Spitler House and Community Museum
The Samuel Spitler House was built in 1894 and is a unique three-story frame Queen Anne style house including a tower room, seven porches and much ornamental detail. A local builder and craftsman, Warren Rasor, constructed the house using plans (Design No. 60) of architect George F. Barber. It was originally located at 5 Hay Avenue. Mr. Spitler and his wife Ettie Pearl (Weaver) Spitler and their daughter Anona lived in the house until about 1920. After they moved there were other owners and at one time it was an apartment building.
By 1973 the house had deteriorated badly and was scheduled for demolition to make way for a parking lot. Several local citizens recognized the uniqueness of the building and organized to “Save The Spitler House.” Funds were raised to purchase another lot, build a new basement, then have the house raised, turned around, moved across an alley and settled on its new foundation. Following the move restoration began and the house was opened to the public on May 15, 1976 at its new location 14 Market St. It has been placed on the National Register of Historical Places.
The three floors of the house display a variety of interesting antiques and items in room settings. The original woodwork of golden oak can be seen on the first floor including an open and delicately carved stairway. On the first floor is a Parlor, Library, Dining Room, Kitchen and Pantry. The upper floor has three bedrooms and a bathroom (the first indoor one in Brookville with running water). The upper hallway has displays of folk art of the 1800’s crafted from hair, shells, beads, feathers and yarn. Throughout the house are unique items designed by Mr. Spitler, a miller and a plumber. On the first floor is a serving cupboard that can be reached from the kitchen, pantry and dining room. In the kitchen is a water system with a tank and pipes running through the kitchen stove to provide hot water to the bathroom upstairs.
The basement has not been restored but contains a variety of interesting exhibits from the Brookville area including a balloon basket belonging to the builder, Warren Rasor, who was a nationally know balloonist, two rare farm animals - a 2 headed calf and Andy D Day, a rare bull and memorabilia from Herman S Fox Brookville Bridge Company.
The museum is open March to November on the 2nd Sunday of the month from 2:00 - 4:00 pm. There are guided tours through the building the last one beginning at 3:00 pm. It is not handicap accessible and is not air conditioned.